Skip to content

Morehouse Dress Code: Get Over It!

October 17, 2009

sag_2

I almost made a promise to myself that I would hold my peace concerning the dress code change at Morehouse. The dress code frankly is not asking that much so I personally don’t know what the big deal is. Forgive me for saying so, but since I moved to Atlanta, I discovered that many of the Morehouse graduates that I tend to meet (and some have become friends) seem to think Morehouse is the best institution since institutions began. And apparently this ivy league attitude has been brainwashed drilled into the men of that school. And there is nothing wrong with that. If Morehouse is supposed to stand apart as a school then it’s appropriate for them to stand apart.

I have been in the workforce for enough time to notice a few things. When you find a job, you will present yourself in the manner that your EMPLOYER believes is best and if you don’t like it – find another job! Second, in most serious places of employment, they are not going to allow a man to come to work dressed in high heels and make-up. Most of the employers don’t care how you live your personally life, but you will present yourself in the manner that they deem appropriate.  I saw on Twitter today comments of people saying that the dress code is discriminating to homosexuals or cross-dressers, but I beg to differ.

I say all that to say this: Until you get your own thing, you will always be told how to conduct yourself by someone. Such is life. So when Morehouse kicks out a dress code policy at its PRIVATE institution in order to set a standard and prepare you for the “real world” just adjust. Everything does not have to be a fight. It will not kill any of the students to dress according to the school’s policy while in class. Most of the policies apply to “while in class.” If you don’t like it, find a convincing way to ask Dr. Franklin to reconsider or convince your parents that their twenty thousand per year would best spent at a place where you can sport your do-rag to class.

Am I wrong? What are your thoughts on the dress code policy?

See the ajc.com story about it here

No comments yet

Leave a comment